Doing It Digi-Style

The POD People blog has posted a new article on not worrying too much about the printed word’s inevitable yielding to the booming Digital Age. Are dead-tree books becoming extinct? Yes—but the tradition of storytelling via text has never been stronger, for both authors and readers:

In actuality, over the past couple of months—since my Sony ereader purchase—I have bought more books, and with that I have taken a chance on more genres, more formats, and certainly more authors.

Perhaps because with e-books there’s less risk involved when, upon reading something dreadfully bad (like Time Chaser, for example), you’ve no longer got a physical piece of junk to have to store somewhere or unload on some random, unsuspecting friend.

That, and the young kids these days don’t seem to mind pixels over paper. This time last year I was worried about making sure my e-books were available on the “right” reader, the device that offered the most paper-like reading experience. But it turns out I’ve been hearing from more and more friends and family who have, say, iPhones or iPod Touches, and they’re pretty enthusiastic about carrying their books alongside their MP3 / video collection. Pleasant surprise. Of course, I won’t be completely happy until they start making Stanza for tricorders…but that’s just me.

About jesse

Book designer and formatter based in southern California. Supreme overlord of the SuperMegaNet pseudoverse.
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Doing It Digi-Style

  1. Kelly S says:

    What would I fill my bookcases with?! I love decorating with books, reading books, plus books don’t run out of battery power 🙂 Maybe I’m too old-fashioned, or maybe I’m too accustomed to running around in used bookstores and libraries. That and my artbooks would be the same on a little book reader thingamawhatzit.

  2. Abbey says:

    I still prefer having the actual book in my hands. I can’t stand reading anything online; it’s too hard on the eyes. I will buy the book even if it is a lot more expensive.Yeah, not very ‘green’ of me but I’m old fashioned. 😛

  3. Cheryl lEE says:

    “Abby” calling herself to old fashioned? She’s what? 12? If she is old fashioned, what am I? A relic? Yuck!

    I do agree, though. The smell of the pages of an old book comprise of so many things. It’s like when you walk into your home after a long trip. The first time you open a new book you find is worthy of “decorating” your bookcase with, and then each time you revisit it. The crumpled pages from all the re-reading. The coffee stain you put on a page when you had to run quick because your dishwasher leaked all over the kitchen. The left over flower you accidentally pressed from the spring you went with your friends to New York and read as they played it up at the golden state bridge. All these things are familiarities that don’t come with ibook stuff.

  4. jesse says:

    You bring up a good point, Kelly. What of art books, photo books, calendars? I’m guessing those will be the commodities.

    Abbey, I wonder if the “green” issue will be used as a marketing tool by the big publishers? Guilt-trip readers into switching from paperbacks to e-readers…

    Cheryl, that’s so true about printed books having “personalities,” battle scars, imprints from past times and places. The nostalgic factor will be hard to duplicate with e-books…until they come out with scented bytes. :p

Leave a Reply

