More Kindling for the Fire

Those of you who own / are planning on owning an Amazon Kindle e-book reader may be interested to know that you can now download most of my books and novels to your Kindle:

I’m told that all of my titles are priced between $4.00–$5.00. So there you go. One more way to read some books without turning a physical page. I’m still on the fence as to the meaningfulness of the Kindle. At nearly $400, I’m tempted to just grab one of those Acer Aspire One netbooks for ~$300 and gain the ability to listen to music and browse the Web in color—in addition to e-book capabilities.

What say you? Amazon Kindle or netbook with Adobe Reader installed?

About jesse

Book designer and formatter based in southern California. Supreme overlord of the SuperMegaNet pseudoverse.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Kindling for the Fire

  1. Kelly says:

    I’ll be very sad the day they stop publishing paperbacks and hardcovers 😦

  2. jesse says:

    Me too. The printed word is one of our oldest traditions. I’m not so much a doomsayer against digital media as I am a worried optimist regarding today’s technology being reliable / decipherable to future generations. Let’s say I release an e-book in WordPerfect format only. Who’s to say WordPerfect or Corel will be around in a hundred years? And even if they are, will they give a damn about a document written in an archaic format?

    This happened to me when I upgraded to Microsoft Office 2000 back in the day. I needed to open some Word 2.0 documents my old word processor had created and for the life of me I couldn’t figure out how. Word 97 did it though. This begs the question: In order for digital documents to survive a decade or more, must we get in the habit of converting / upgrading / “keeping everything current” every few years?

    Okay, enough from me. 😉

Leave a Reply

