Star Trek Trailer

Oh! A new Star Trek trailer has been posted online:

The new Star Wars...I mean, Star TREK...trailer

Analysis: there’s not much to go on but a short collection of sensationalistic clips—and the sneaky feeling that the franchise is trying to compete in the summer action flick arena. This could work. And maybe it can’t. If the lines are brief and disjointed like those in Quantum of Solace, then I will indeed be disappointed (two-thirds of the Star Trek charm is the hefty use of detailed dialog). But I suppose it’s the way things must go. Such is what current audiences have grown “accustomed” to, and that’s what movie execs demand. We live in a post-Revenge of the Sith world, so the pristine, intellectual, slow-build story lines present in the original Star Trek series, Star Trek: The Next Generation, and the first few seasons of Deep Space Nine won’t work unless broken down and spread between flashy action sequences.

That being said, I’m still going to be there, front and center, when the thing hits the screen. I have to. Simon Pegg is playing Scotty. And even though it’ll be more Star Wars than Star Trek, I think I’m going to have a good time because I know that no matter how awesome or how abysmal Star Trek: 2009 is, I can always go home afterward and fire up TOS on my DVD player. Fiack yeah.

About jesse

Book designer and formatter based in southern California. Supreme overlord of the SuperMegaNet pseudoverse.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Star Trek Trailer

  1. Charles Ortiz: The One and Only says:

    That doesn’t look like Star Trek at all. I’m greatly disappointed, though I realize I can’t say anything until I actually go and see the movie. Let’s just say I’m worried.

Leave a Reply

