I Am Thankful For…

With Thanksgiving just around the corner, I thought I’d take a moment to reflect on all that I have to be thankful for. Here’s my humble list:

  • I am thankful for family, friendship, and telemarketers who say “have a great day” before hanging up.
  • I am thankful for sunny days and starlit nights…despite the fact that as a longtime resident of the Los Angeles area, the smog system has kept me from seeing either.
  • I am thankful for male pattern baldness, because I look at it this way: every hair lost is one less hair to have to comb in the morning.
  • I am thankful for the privilege of living in a neighborhood that has earned the Biggest Pothole award for three years in a row.
  • I am thankful for those rare but memorable days when the blonde who sits next to me on the bus forgets to wear a bra under her tassels.
  • I am thankful for holiday carolers patrolling the streets with songs of merriment and joy…
  • …and for the annual Christmas flu that renders my ears so full of wax that I cannot hear them.
  • I am thankful for small miracles, and even smaller insurance premiums.
  • I am thankful for guys named Steve who pay my tab and lend me a friendly ear when my date decides she’d rather spend my birthday in the arms of a muscular Yoga instructor sitting two tables over.
  • I am thankful for prime time television – and the fact that it makes family interaction as easy as clicking a button.
  • I am thankful for brotherhood, and the solace in knowing that no matter how smart or talented my younger brothers are, I was always there first.
  • I am thankful for every book I’ve ever sold, every lie I’ve ever told.
  • I am thankful to be a citizen of these grand United States of America, one nation, under Schwarzenegger, with liberty and justice for all.

Happy Thanksgiving.

About jesse

Book designer and formatter based in southern California. Supreme overlord of the SuperMegaNet pseudoverse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Am Thankful For…

  1. Aleksas says:

    Hope your holidays are going well as well! Peace out!

Leave a Reply

